A Mixed Christmas

I live in a mixed household which became even more mixed this festive season.

  1. A Vegetarian (My wife)
  2. Two fussy omnivores (my daughters)
  3. Two passionate carnivores (my visiting parents)
  4. A Vegan (me)

So, how did we manage the Turkey with all of the trimmings?

It could have been fairly stressful but I think we managed to meet the challenge of providing food for everyone. Here’s the table:

WP_20151225_14_16_55_Pro

So it was quite full and I was able to make all sorts of left overs – the best being the vegetable curry but there was also a vegetable pie with roast potato and parsnips.

The eagle eyed among you may have noticed that for a blog that talks about being vegan that it is odd to find a Turkey on the table. Well this is where the mixed household element comes in… that and this was my first Vegan Christmas and my parents would find the whole affair even stranger without the inclusion of a Turkey. So reluctantly we bought a small bird and have made sure that they have eaten all up over the past couple of days. I’m not sure that they will accept my new eating habit or way of life, but I did make a point of providing them with rather delicious Vegan meals accompanied by extra Turkey that they would then have to eat. They brought a selection of cheeses with them and hardly touched them as they were too full. So, hopefully they will see that being vegan doesn’t mean starving myself or eating tasteless and bland food.

We therefore came very close to having a very full table which would have been completely vegan – see below:

Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 16.08.24

I had great fun with the variety of vegetables and presenting them in different ways. Using Maple syrup as an alternative to Honey worked really well.

Also, the starter – was a mix of lightly roasted vegetables, combined with basil tofu all put into a filo pastry case that rose in veg – a lovely way. Sadly I didn’t get a picture of the finished article. Here though is the mix of veg – peppers, radish (very finely chopped), some red onion, a clove of garlic (again very finely chopped), the basil tofu (half a packet)  – all roasted for approx 25 minutes. YUMMY.

Leave a Reply

