Fitness plans and a Vegan cashew & veg loaf.

 

Last year I set out to run one official event a month; I managed January but only just and Facebook tells me that I felt slow and sluggish in my training runs. I managed to DNF a 10K barely managing to complete the 5k version of the BHF Knebworth ParkRun. That was an early warning sign of some odd underlying medical condition and by the start of March I was in hospital and then signed off of work… That was one objective for 2015 blown squarely out of the water.

12 months on and I am fully recovered and ready to put plans into action again. So here they are:Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 21.51.14Still need to decide on the amber ones but I have a choice of two events for most months and a few confirmed ones already. August and December need an event and so I will keep looking.

I’ve decided that I need a variety of distances and types of events to choose from. That way I will stay more focused and interested and hopefully not be susceptible to injury. This table doesn’t detail the cycling and swimming that I will be doing nor the general running training but there is the suggestion that I will be working towards a second target – 6 of 12 months will be run everyday. I liked the idea of a 365 streak last year (a target that I didn’t really start as I felt off colour for most of January)

Now, if I manage these months of streaks then I will be giving some thought to the food I’m consuming and the nutrients to ensure that I am  not going to run myself down. More on that with being Vegan in later posts I’m sure. Then perhaps for 2017 I will consider a 365 streak. Although right now I think that I will be more focused on specific events and times to beat!

Food wise, I’ve recently eaten a rather lovely cashew and vegetable loaf with festive Christmas vegetables. I’m fortunate in that I do genuinely like Brussel Sprouts! Sadly I didn’t snap a picture of the plate but it was tasty, so thank you very much to my Mother in Law who is doing her best to adjust to my diet.

Here is the recipe:

Carrot and Cashew Nut Loaf.

1 Onion, chopped.

1-2 cloves of garlic, crushed.

1 tbsp oil

1lb carrots

lemon juice (half)

4 oz breadcrumbs.

1.5 tsp caraway seeds and 1 tbs Tahini (Tahini can be missed out)

2.5 floz of carrot and stock seasoning.

Also other veg – Parsnip, Brussel sprouts, Jacket potato, Red and Green cabbage.

Fry the onion until soft then mix in everything else. Place into a loaf tin and bake at 180C for 1 hour – cover the tin.

Whilst this is in the oven, prepare and boil some Parsnip, Brussel sprouts until soft (but not too soft). Whilst these are boiling you can also steam some cabbage (red and Green) so that there is a good mixed veg plate alongside the loaf.

I would also recommend putting a Jacket potato into a microwave and then once the inside is soft and cooked, put it into the oven to crisp up the skin. (if you are really organised, put the potato into the oven about 30 minutes before you start preparation of the carrots etc and if the potato isn’t too big then everything should end up timed to perfection for a co-ordinated meal)

Remove the cover and bake for 10 minutes – just to brown the top.

Remove  from the oven, let it stand for 10 minutes, remove from tin and serve.

 

Oh and for posterity’s sake, this below is a picture of me really feeling off colour at about 3k in the BHF ParkRun. Urgh. I’ve learned to listen to my body and adjust accordingly. I hope that my training regime, diet and sensible approach to events will help me stay healthy, get fitter and be a better runner with a well balanced life. Its certainly important to learn from life’s lessons!

bhf

Leave a Reply

